The Eight-Limbed Path of Yoga

Yoga is a systematic approach to wellness and health.

Practice becomes firmly grounded when well attended to for a long time, without break and in all earnestness.

Yoga Sutra 1.14
Million Dollar Couloir Cayoosh Duffy Lake Land and Heart Yoga Teacher Training

The eight-limbed path of yoga is

  • an examination of the self in relation to the world and
  • a holistic approach to a balanced life free from suffering.

The eight limbs of yoga are taught in succession, but it’s not always necessary to follow the path step-by-step. In this lesson, you’ll examine each of the limbs as a way to live with intention and gratitude.


Create a 15-minute asana sequence that includes pranayama instruction.
Choose any of the four pranayama techniques from this section (kapalabhati, three-part breath, nadi shodhana or ujjayi breath). 

In your asana sequence, include:
1) an arm balance
2) a meditation

upload to Google Classroom here

By taigapaws

Land and Heart Yoga is an online yoga studio. Book retreats, yoga teacher trainings, meditation and asana classes with Kate. Wild yoga. For wherever you are.